Back to the boards…

Dear Reader,

Well, I did it! Like, three weeks ago, but still. I got through my first lead role post baby, and I actually feel pretty good about it. There were flubs. There were nights I should have been more prepared, but hey. Cloth diapers ain’t gonna wash themselves. We did it, It was great!

Image

This kid? He was a CHAMP during the run of this last show. An absolute CHAMP.

Now back to the drawing board.

 

Our company has begun rehearsals for our next play; “A Real Boy” by Stephen Kaplan. Wow. Just wow. At first I REALLY didn’t want to play the part I have been assigned. At first glance, she’s TERRIBLE. Let me back up… I play a kindergarten teacher. She is an EXCELLENT teacher, and a sweet woman, but has never married, never had children of her own. One day, something happens to one of her students as a result of a situation at home, and she abducts him. Refuses to let his parents remove him from her classroom. WHAT. THE. HELL?!?! Who DOES that? 

Then, I looked a little closer, and began doing my character study. This woman, who I previously despised has good reason for her flawed actions. She may not have children of her own NOW, but it doesn’t mean that she didn’t at one point. It doesn’t mean that she hasn’t tried to have children. It doesn’t mean that her heart doesn’t break every time she sees a child dragged out of her classroom by parents to whom they are little more than a nuisance with a tax refund, knowing that she would love that child so much more than the pair of unwilling parents who do the bare minimum required by law. Years of longing for her own son, or daughter… of seeing this day in, and day out… she just snaps. 

I’m by NO MEANS saying that she makes the right call, but I understand. And if I can understand what makes them tick, then I can play them well. 

 

*deep breath* aaaaaaand GO!

 

Sincerely, 

A “oh! Guess who has started eating ‘solid’ foods?” me

Leave a Reply

