So what happens now?

Dear Reader,

We did it! We made it through our first season, and still want to keep going! We all grew as actors, conquered challenging material, and none of us caught on fire or died!

Oh, and my son was just fine. He did great! He still isn’t sleeping through the night, but guess what? Neither am I. My own parents are still waiting for me to call them and tell them that I can finally make it all the way to morning, so I have to cut the kiddo some slack.

So… now what?

Next on the agenda: a small break from the theatre as we all recoup, and adjust to another school year. Some members are moving on, some are going back to school, and some of us are starting new jobs. That’s right! I start teaching voice next week for a few hours a week. EEK! I love teaching, but… gah! It’s always nervewracking. I have those little voices in my hands. I am responsible for the way the tiny ones develop as performers. Because of me they could either love, or hate singing for the rest of their lives. No pressure.

Itzhak Perlman always tells his students to teach every chance that they get. That the best way to become a master of your own interment, is to teach others to use it. Well, I am a singer. Voice is my instrument. Bring it on.

Until next time dear readers, raise your soft palate, and try again.

Sincerely,
A “Oh! Guess who is starting to try to stand up? GAH!!!” me
IMG_2781

Finally! The secrets of the books are mine!

Leave a Reply

